If you are facing DUI charges, you need to familiarize yourself with the various consequences you could face and take steps to protect your future. These cases carry harsh penalties, such as fines and even time behind bars (not to mention a shattered reputation).
Moreover, Mississippi drivers facing DUI charges for the first time must participate in the Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program (MASEP). If you have to attend MASEP, it is important to review the ins and outs of this program and ensure that you work through the process properly.
Completing MASEP after your first DUI
According to MASEP’s official website, those convicted of driving drunk for the first time must complete the program and failure to do so can result in contempt of court charges. If the court ordered you to attend MASEP, it is vital to understand when and where to apply for the program. Review the court order to go over these details and note the cost of participating in this program. You have to pay for MASEP with your credit card, debit card or a money order (cash is not accepted).
MASEP and license reinstatement after a DUI
After completing MASEP, drivers can have their license suspension reduced to 90 days. You will need to provide a certificate of MASEP completion along with proof of liability insurance in order to reinstate your license in Mississippi. Moreover, you will have to pay a $175 license reinstatement fee.
For some drivers, dealing with the aftermath of a DUI case and MASEP seems overwhelming. However, you should carefully go over your options and the steps you need to take to restore your driving privileges.