Buying a fake driver’s license or borrowing your friend’s license may seem fun. You can get into that club you have wanted to go to or buy alcohol for your upcoming party with friends. The fun may abruptly end, however, if law enforcement catches you.
Understanding the fake ID law in Mississippi may help you protect yourself from unnecessary criminal trouble and your future from the unintended potential fallout.
Forms of false identification
According to the Mississippi Department of Revenue, using false identification in the state qualifies as a criminal offense. You may face fake ID charges for representing a driver’s license as your own that the state did not issue to you. For example, this may include duplicated or reproduced licenses, altered or fraudulently obtained licenses, or licenses borrowed from others.
The consequences of fake ID convictions
If you get convicted of using a fake ID, you may face serious penalties. The court may order you to pay a fine of up to $500, sentence you to imprisonment for up to six months or a combination of these. For a second conviction, the court may sentence you to pay up to a $5,000 fine, up to one year in jail, or a combination of the two. A conviction for using false identification will, with few exceptions, remain on your criminal record. Consequently, such a conviction may affect your future education or employment prospects.
Using a fake ID may seem just a youthful indiscretion, especially if no one gets hurt because of it. However, getting caught with altered or fraudulent identification may have serious consequences with lasting repercussions.