All states in the union have laws against drunk driving, but the laws differ between states. In the state of Mississippi, it is important to be aware of ignition interlock device laws if you are dealing with a DUI conviction.
Like many states, Mississippi does have ignition interlock device laws. According to the state of Mississippi, If you are a first time DUI offender, you may continue to drive after a 30-day suspension if you install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
What does an ignition interlock device do?
An ignition interlock device is essentially a breathalyzer for your vehicle. If you wish to turn the vehicle on, you will need to breathe into the ignition interlock device to prove that you have not been consuming alcohol prior to turning the vehicle on. While the vehicle is in motion, you will occasionally need to breathe into the device so that it can ensure you have not consumed alcohol since turning the vehicle on.
Ignition interlock devices have helped cut down on subsequent DUI convictions. They also provide a convenient solution to multiple licensed drivers being dependent upon a vehicle that the court might otherwise impound due to the DUI conviction of one of the drivers.
When do I need an ignition interlock device?
If you want to get your driving privileges reinstated as quickly as possible after a DUI conviction, you will need to install an ignition interlock device even if it is your first offense. If this is a subsequent offense, Mississippi requires you to install an ignition interlock device for at least 6 months.